Origin

Previously, this cuvée had gone under the name of “Blanc de Blancs” since the beginning of the 20th century.

It is made exclusively from our Chardonnays grown on the Côte des Blancs: Vertus, Oger, Avize, Cramant, which form a line close to the 4th meridian. “Longitude” is also an allusion to the length and the very pure, frank and mineral style of these great terroirs, where the chalk is very close to the surface.

For this cuvée, the grapes were harvested by hand in 2012 and blended with 40% of reserve wines made in 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2006, 2005 and 2004.

 

Vinification and maturation

The natural alcoholic fermentation (natural yeast) and the malolactic fermentation begin spontaneously in our casks, our wooden vats and our stainless-steel tanks. The wines are left on their natural lees for nearly a year and undergo gentle bâtonnages, but no filtering or fining. The blending and the bottling are carried out in July. The bottles are then taken down into the coolness of our cellars, where the second fermentation and the maturation 'on laths' quietly take place over a period of more than 2 years. Each bottle is disgorged manually 6 months before being marketed. The dosage is 4 grams per litre (extra-brut!).

Tasting notes

Very broad and rich compared with the other wines in this line-up of growers' champagnes. Quite incredible to think that this is an Extra Brut in view of the richness on the palate. Clean, refreshing, fabulous! Very long.

JancisRobinson.com, For people who love good wines, May 2013

 

Other tasting notes:

 

Perfect as an apéritif, its freshness, its frankness, its mineral quality will give you an appetite. You can drink it now or also keep it for several years.

Available at the domain in bottle, in magnum and Jeroboam.

Back to Home Page

Origine

Historiquement cette cuvée était connue sous le nom de « Blanc de Blancs » depuis le début du 20ième siècle.

Elle est issue exclusivement de nos Chardonnay de la Côte des Blancs : Vertus, Oger, Avize, Cramant qui forment une ligne proche du 4ième méridien. « Longitude », c’est aussi la longueur et le style très pur, minéral et droit de ces grands terroirs où la craie est pratiquement affleurante.

Non millésimée, cette cuvée comporte 30% de vins de notre réserve perpétuelle débutée en 2004.

 

Élevage

La fermentation alcoolique naturelle (levures indigènes) et la fermentation malolactique se déclenchent spontanément dans nos fûts, nos foudres et nos cuves. Les vins y sont élevés sur lies naturelles pendant près d’un an avec de légers batonnages, sans filtration ni collage. Les assemblages et le tirage ont lieu en juillet. Les bouteilles sont descendues dans la fraîcheur de nos caves où la seconde fermentation et le vieillissement sur lattes se déroulent tranquillement pendant au moins 2  ans. Nous dégorgeons chaque bouteille manuellement 6 mois avant la commercialisation. Le dosage est de 4g/l (extra-brut !).

Notes de dégustation

En biodynamie depuis plus de vingt ans, ce champagne expose une sérénité à toute épreuve. Un vrai coup de coeur pour ce vin de terroir généreux dans son prix au vu de sa qualité. Un summum d'enthousiasme pour cette matière d'une pureté éclatante, cette finesse remarquable. L'intensité ouvre un univers d'arômes insoupçonnés. A goûter pour ne plus voir le champagne de la même façon.

Le Monde, 9 Décembre 2016

 

D'autres notes de dégustation :

 

Parfait pour l’apéritif, sa fraîcheur, sa droiture, sa minéralité vous mettront en appétit. À boire dès maintenant ; vous pouvez aussi le garder quelques années.

Disponible au domaine en bouteille, magnum et jéroboam.

Revenir à la page d'accueil